Michigan–Michigan State football rivalry

The Michigan–Michigan State football Competition is an American School football Competition between the University of Michigan Wolverines and Michigan State University Spartans.

Since 1953, the winner of every calendar year’s match has received the Paul Bunyan Trophy. The teams first played in 1898 and have met virtually every year since 1910 (exceptions in 1943 and 1944). 44 of the first 50 games were played in Ann Arbor, but since then, U of M and MSU have played 30 home games against each other. The competition became a summit rivalry with Michigan State’s entry into the Big Ten Conference in 1950.
The teams have fulfilled 111 times with Michigan winning 70 games, Michigan State winning 36 games, and five games ending with the score tied. Michigan dominated the series for the first half century, compiling a 33–6–3 record in 1898 to 1949. The wave shifted to Michigan State in the 1950s and 1960s, as the Spartans under head coaches Biggie Munn and Duffy Daugherty compiled a 14–4–2 album in 1950 to 1969. The wave then changed back into the Wolverines as Michigan compiled a 30–8 record from the Spartans from 1970 to 2007. Since 2008, Michigan State has dominated the series with an 8–3 album.
Michigan State’s longest winning streak from Michigan is four matches. Michigan’s longest winning streak from Michigan State is 14 games.

Read more: usvirugby.org