Indiana State Sycamores men’s basketball

The Indiana State Sycamores basketball is Your NCAA Division I men’s basketball program of Indiana State University in Terre Haute.

They compete in the Missouri Valley Conference. The group last played in the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament in 2011.
The Sycamores’ first time was 1896, making them the basketball team from the NCAA along with Minnesota Bucknell and Washington the records from 1896 to 1899 longer exist. The Sycamores boast two College Players of the Year, 14 All-Americans, 39 1,000-point scorers and 1,496 victories. They are placed by their success count . [4][5]
Additionally, the Sycamores have 26 Post-Season Appearances (7 NCAA, 4 NIT, 1 CBI, 1 CIT, 12 NAIA and the 1936 Olympic Trials) with 5 National Championship Appearances (two NCAA, 3 NAIA). Seven Sycamores were members of this 1951 Pan-American Games Gold Medal-winning team. The Sycamore’s most memorable year was the UPI National title, in addition to 1978 — 79, when celebrity Larry Bird led an undefeated team to its first-ever NCAA Tournament appearance. It lost the title game compared to the Magic Johnson-led Michigan State group; and finished the season. This is the deepest run with a first-time participant in the Division I tournament, and one of only three occasions a first-time group has advanced so far as the Final Four (UNCC at 1977 and Georgia in 1983). They would not have yet another postseason appearance.
The Sycamores were the National Runner-Up at the NCAA College Division (now Div II) in 1968; they won the NAIA National Championship in 1950, had NAIA Finals looks in 1946 & 1948 and NAIA National Semifinals looks in 1949 & 1953. The Sycamores were led Dick Atha, Duane Klueh, by All-Americans and Lenny Rzeszewski. As the program transitioned from NAIA to the NCAA, one last NAIA highlight was Ray Goddard leading the Country in FT percentage (91.2%)[6] through the 1961-62 season. Former Head Coaches comprise the legendary John Wooden, Purdue All-American Dave Schellhase, Indiana coaching legend Glenn M. Curtis and famous college coaches such as Bob King, Royce Waltman, Tates Locke and Ron Greene. Former assistants include present collegiate head coaches such as Thad Matta (Butler, Xavier, Ohio State), Rick Ray (Mississippi State, Southeast Missouri), Kareem Richardson (Missouri-Kansas City), Phil Hopkins (Western Carolina), Mel Garland (IUPUI), Stan Gouard (Indianapolis) and NBA Great Mel Daniels.
The Indiana State Sycamores men’s basketball team play their home games at Hulman Center (10,200) and are trained by Greg Lansing.

Read more: